2022 Properties on the Tour
The original part of the spacious McCullough Home was built in 1950 by Joe Wallis, publisher of the Daily Home, which is still our local newspaper. Owned briefly by the Paul Pruitts in the early 1980s, Sam & Heidi Yates purchased the home in 1985. They added several rooms, and in 2000, the home was purchased by Heidi’s parents, Jim & Becky Heacock, who had watched the house being built half a century earlier. Mr. Heacock, in fact, furnished part of the original ironwork for the home, never dreaming that someday he would live in the house.
Built in 1950, the original owner was Mrs. Mary E. Dumas. She originally lived in the large brick home at 205 South Street (at the corner of South Street and 1st Street, which is now Norman C. Wood Street) with her husband, Bill Dumas, a local lawyer. After his death, Mrs. Dumas decided that she needed to relocate to something smaller but didn’t want to leave her property. The Dumas property covered an extensive area enabling her to construct a little white guest house behind the large formal Dumas home on the corner. She had trees felled on the property and used the milled wood for the flooring at 411...beautiful until this day. The house is still often referred to as the Dumas House.
Dr. William R. Harvey Museum of Art
In 2014, William R. Harvey, an alumnus of Talladega College, and his family, donated $1.3 million to Talladega College which established an art museum in Harvey’s name. Groundbreaking for the museum took place in November 2017. The State of Alabama, led by governor Kay Ivey, donated $1.5 million to the construction efforts. The ribbon cutting at the Dr. William R. Harvey Museum of Art was in January 2020 and the museum officially opened on February 3, 2020.
Hall of Heroes Museum
At Talladega's Hall of Heroes Museum, we aspire to be more than simply a collection of unique local items. We are devoted to creating a living, interactive learning experience through special events and exhibitions. Our carefully curated private collection attempts to impart our knowledge and ideas, and to instill excitement and imagination in our visitors. We look forward to your visit - we promise you will learn something new.
Cars of Many Colors!
Restored antique car collection by John Garrett - no two are the same color, hence the name! Mr. Garrett has this collection open year-round and it is free to the public.
Heritage Hall’s mission is to provide education in and enjoyment of the Arts to the greater Talladega community and facilitate the celebration and understanding of our rich history. The Museum and Arts Center, located in the heart of Talladega's historic Silk Stocking District, has been open to the public since 1979. Housed in the former Jemison-Carnegie Public Library building originally built in 1908, Heritage Hall is outfitted as an exhibition space and historical archive. Architecture buffs will appreciate the soaring 18 foot ceilings and classic interior columns of the Beaux Arts Classic style building, as well as the rare freestanding staircase leading down to the intimate, less formal lower galleries.
Oak Hill Cemetery
Oak Hill Cemetery was established in 1831, three years before the town of Talladega was incorporated, and more than a year before Talladega County was created on December 18, 1832.) Graven images stand silent vigil over 33 acres in one of Alabama’s oldest and most significant cemeteries. Walking around the cemetery and reading the headstones can be as informative as reading a history book. Uniquely, beginning with the Revolutionary War, there are veterans from every American conflict entrusted to Oak Hill.